Happy New Year From Tarascon & provence…..

05Jan10

Well it has been a very long time………..

I moved from London at the end of August.. packed up lock stock and 7 tonne van headed for Portsmouth and the dreaded ferry crossing [ I don’t like the north sea..]
The crossing was rough to say the least.. But hey we made it across to Saint – Malo & then down to Nantes!
I left the van.. with my life on-board parked up at a friend’s house in Nantes.. & boarded a plane to Marseilles… Marseilles has a rapid pulse to her …. the energy buzzes!
Although i loved the city.. and the fusion of cultures,
4 days in Marseilles was enough to know it was probably not the right spot.
So i hopped a TGV to Avignon and then a short 25 Min bus ride down to Tarascon.
Tarascon [bouches du Rhone] is basically on the right bank of Rhone river.. with Beaucaire [gard] opposite on the left bank.
Tarascon  is a medieval village with a blend of Provençal french and Arab culture running side by side.
In fact throughout this region there has been a strong Arab influence for hundreds of years…which you can definitely see in the architecture… Abbaye saint-Michel de Frigolet roughly 20Mins from here is a truly wonderful gem.. I was rendered speechless.. with its painted walls – pillars – ceilings – It’s a beautiful Abbaye..

I find the french here warm-hearted & some-what tolerant ! it has far exceeded my expectations..
As far as I’m concerned i made a great choice.. of course there is the language problem [my French is lacking]..
The fact is.. a lot of things just get lost in translation… and some of it is.. hysterically funny.
Is this the place I’m going to spend the rest of my life?? Humm…. I’m not sure about that..
but if i ask myself what if i got stuck here? would it be a bad thing?
I would have to say no.. it wouldn’t be bad at all!
I have met some really lovely people who have been incredibly helpful….  i have not asked for help.. it has just been given.
The people i have met are not out for what they can get!
After living in big bad city’s all my life… I’m truly grateful for the warm welcome I have received here…
The other evening…. new years day! I was sitting in my friends restaurant [Le Theatre] ..having a glass of Vin rouge..I was talking to Jean Rene [a budding to the left politician …. verging on communism] a lovely guy! i asked him did he want me to come and do some gardening [ i don’t have a garden yet ] he said you can have half my garden for €1.00 a year.. and you can do anything you want!  …..   WOW!!!
This guy takes care of a young lady [who has Schizophrenia] when ever she is hungry… she can go to Le Thestre restaurant and eat whatever she wants…. they put it on a tab and he pays.. He is not a rich man by any means… he has a Big heart!
I will tell you more about my new location and new friends in my next post…
I’m trying to set up my studio work room… so i can start working – producing and hopefully do some of my best work yet….” it’s been a long time coming”!!
Happy new year to all of you & best wishes!

No Responses Yet to “Happy New Year From Tarascon & provence…..”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

